Asked by Anonymous from an unspecified location
Liability insurance covers damage you cause others through your own negligence in accidents at which you are at fault. The amount residents of each state must carry varies, based on the insurance rules and laws established in their state.
In this case, Georgia state law requires all drivers to carry two types of personal liability insurance: bodily injury and property damage liability. Bodily injury pays the medical bills of those you hurt through your own negligence, and property damage pays to repair or replace the automobiles or other structures you damage in an accident.
Minimums in Georgia include bodily injury protection of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, and property damage coverage in the amount of $25,000.
For more information on Georgia insurance, see our comprehensive page on the subject here.
Please note: InsureMe Answers is not intended to be a substitute for advice from a licensed professional. For specific questions about a policy or claim, please contact your insurance agent or company.